Chicago Blues Guitar Method

Silicon Valley Tom

It makes me happpy to play The Blues!
Well, the reality is that I have been collecting music literature since I was six years old. I have many collections of music and continue to add what I like. When I find something that is in print and useful, I like to tell others about it.

A nice thing about music literature is that it never becomes obsolete. That is so different from my programming books, which are obsolete about one week after they are published! :(

I like music books of different types, as I play many different instruments. Some are truly useful, and those are the ones I purchase. Method books are problematical, as not every author knows how to connect with the average player.

By the way, I did create a computer application in 1995, for the music industry. It was designed for music literature stores (of which there are few today). One of these days I am going to take a screen shot of the app and post it on this forum.

Any piece of music I recommend is something that I own and see value in for others to use. I truly do not believe that there is only one source for all knowledge.

I really miss the music literature stores that were in the San Francisco Bay Area, where I live. So many have gone. Even music stores like Gryphon Stringed Instruments in Palo Alto, which has top value instruments, has dropped almost all of its printed music lines.

Tom

twbuff

The hurrier I go, the behinder I get!
Yes, with the advent of the computer, a lot of people think you can "digitize" something and that will replace the printed version - which is patently NOT TRUE! Nothing beats a good book - particularly a good music book. Keep up the fight Tom, I'm with you all the way.

OG_Blues

Guitar Geezer